About The Franklin Delano Roosevelt Foundation

The Franklin Delano Roosevelt Foundation is based at Adams House, Harvard University and is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization dedicated to preserving the memory of the 32nd president of the United States and to the renewal of his legacy for the 21st century. We do not receive direct funding from Harvard, and our programs exist entirely through contributions from individuals and grant makers interested in supporting our historical, educational and scholarship activities. All contributions are deductible to the extent allowed by law. Please consider helping our efforts. You may donate directly to the Foundation by following the instructions on our "Donate" page.

Mission Statement

Looking to the past, we maintain a museum of FDR's years as a college student, the restored 1904 FDR Suite at Adams House, Harvard College.

Looking to the future, we seek to use the full Roosevelt legacy to address pressing domestic and international social needs. We believe that government is part of the solution, not part of the problem, and we strive to re-empower progressive leadership through collaborations between policy-shapers, scholars and students. We seek to reintroduce modern decision-makers to the New Deal philosophy that inspired the most effective and long-lasting reforms of that era: bold persistent experimentation and above all, harnessing the power of hope to promote a spirit of social cooperation and activism.

Our current initiatives focus on:

  • impacts of climate change and automation on high-risk populations
  • threats to democracy across the globe
  • dangers of rising American isolationism
  • building a creative citizenry to better face the disruptions of the 21st century

Franklin Delano Roosevelt Foundation, Inc. 2016 Corporate Board Members

President & Executive Director: Michael Weishan, '86 PBS Host, author, historian.
Director: Jed Willard '96 Director, FDR Center for Global Engagement
Treasurer: Matthew H. H. Young '12, HMS, HL
Clerk: Rev. George Salzmann, Ph.D, Catholic Chaplain, Graduate & Professional Schools.

FDR Center for Global Engagement

Jed Willard '96, Director

Advisory Cabinet Members:

The Honorable David Huebner, Former United States Ambassador to New Zealand and Samoa; Partner at Arnold and Porter, LLP
Anne Terman Wedner, Commissioner, U.S. Advisory Commission on Public Diplomacy, Board Member at The Chicago Council on Global Affairs

Franklin Delano Roosevelt Creative Citizenship Project

Marcela Davison Aviles '80, Director

Alumni Advisory Council to the Foundation

Douglas Carver '59, International businessman; HAA Director Emeritus
Albert Cho '02, Former White House Fellow; international consultant on environmental issues
Kristina Perkin Davidson '89, Founder and partner at iEurope Capital LLC
C. Stephen Heard, Jr. '58 Attorney and author
Nancy Israel '76, Climate change and sustainability consultant and business attorney
Claire Mays '81, Independent researcher and consultant, Institut Symlog, Paris
Timothy J. Smith '04, Attorney & Harvard Admissions officer
Michael Weishan '86, Executive Director of the Franklin Delano Roosevelt Foundation

FDR Global Fellowship Selection Committee

Dr. Judith Palfrey, MD, T. Berry Brazelton Professor of Pediatrics; Master of Adams House
Dr. Sean Palfrey, MD, Co-master of Adams House; Professor of Pediatrics and Public Health at Boston University
Professor Robert Kiely, Former Master of Adams House; Donald P. and Katherine B. Loker Professor of English, emeritus
Cynthia Koch, Ph.D, Past Director of the FDR Presidential Library; Public Historian in Residence at Bard College
Michael Weishan '86, Executive Director of the FDR Foundation, PBS host, author, designer
Albert Cho '02, Former White House Fellow, Rhodes and Truman Scholar; international consultant on environmental issues
Sarah Stewart Johnson Ph.D, Planetary scientist and, Professor at Georgetown University

FDR Suite Restoration Project Board

Drew Gilpin Faust, President of Harvard University, Honorary Chair
Dr. Judy Palfrey, Master of Adams House, Chair
Dr. Sean Palfrey, Co-Master of Adams House, Co-Chair
Merle Bicknell, Assistant Dean, Department of Physical Resources, Harvard College
Rev. George Salzmann, Ph.D, Catholic Chaplain, Graduate & Professional Schools, Adams SCR
Michael Weishan '86, PBS Host, author, historian.

FDR Suite Historical Advisory Committee

Prof. Robert Dallek, Emeritus, UCLA
Doris Kearns Goodwin, Presidential Scholar & Roosevelt Biographer
Dr. Cynthia Koch, Past Director, Franklin Delano Roosevelt Library and Museum, Public Historian in Residence, Bard College
Prof. William Leuchtenberg, Emeritus, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC
Curtis Roosevelt, FDR Grandson, Presidential Scholar & Author
Prof. Jean Edward Smith, Marshall University, Huntingdon, WV
Amb. William Vanden Heuvel, Founder, Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt Institute

the franklin delano roosevelt foundation

26 Plympton Street, Box 471
Adams House, Harvard College
Cambridge, Massachusetts 02138